New Music: Carrie Underwood – “See You Again”

Carrie Underwood's "See You Again" streaming free

If “See You Again” doesn’t make you want to drive 80 miles per hour down an open country road with the wind blowing through your hair, quietly sobbing…I will eat my hat.  “See You Again” is the fourth single to be lifted from Carrie’s 2012 album “Blown Away,” and it’s a sentimental country-pop record with a stadium-sized chorus and the most crossover appeal since “Before He Cheats.”

I must admit, I haven’t paid much attention to Carrie lately.  Even though she’s my second-favorite American Idol winner (behind Kelly Clarkson), the previous singles from this project just never really caught my attention – but “See You Again” is something special.  Sure, some of the lyrics are a little cheesy, but I bet you’ll get swept up in Carrie’s beautiful, crystal clear vocals and forget all about them.

If her label is SMART, they will send a pop mix to radio STAT (just taking a liiitle bit of that twang out of the chorus).  Unfortunately, as Carrie so shadily pointed out back in December, she doesn’t need to release remixes to appeal to pop radio (take that, Taylor!), so there probably won’t be a pop mix and “See You Again” won’t move beyond country radio.  I hope I’m wrong, but as good as this song is (and it is kind of amazing and you should absolutely download it), I don’t know if pop radio is going to get on board in its current state.  BUT IT COULD BE HUGE.

Now excuse me while I put this on repeat and think back on all the things that might have been!

Leave a Reply

