New Music: MS MR – “Hurricane”

 

I don’t know what the hell just happened, but I want to watch it again.  MS MR is a fascinating indie pop duo from New York consisting of vocalist Lizzy Plapinger and producer Max Hershenow.  “Hurricane,” a haunting song about our internal emotional storms, was originally included on the duo’s 2012 EP “Candy Bar Creep Show,” but it has recently been given new life in the form of the above arresting music video.  There’s something so chilling about the way Lizzy sings, “Welcome to the inner workings of my mind, so dark and foul I can’t disguise,” but like SJP in Hocus Pocus, her voice is so dreamy and sweet, you just want to hear more!

I had the pleasure of seeing MS MR live last summer when they opened for Marina and the Diamonds in Chicago.  They were fantastic, but when I got home and looked them up online, I couldn’t find much information.  I kind of forgot about them until a few months ago when their eerie and equally evocative song “Bones” was featured in a promo spot for HBO’s “Game of Thrones.”  I ran to iTunes to download their EP and the rest is herstory!

I’m not sure if “Hurricane” will appear on MS MR’s upcoming full-length studio album “Secondhand Rapture” (due out on May 14th), but since they recorded a new music video, I think it’s a good possibility.  Check out the new video for “Hurricane” above and then download the “Candy Bar Creep Show” EP on iTunes!

Leave a Reply

