New Music: Avril Lavigne – “Rock N Roll”

avrillavignrocknroll

So I thought that Avril’s last single “Here’s to Never Growing Up” was going to be huge this summer.  I was wrong.  The song just barely squeaked into the top 20 on the Billboard Hot 100 chart and slowly fizzled out without making much of an impact.  Bummer.

But L.A. Reid is determined to make Avril’s comeback happen, so she’s back with the second single from her still untitled fifth studio album, “Rock N Roll.”  I’m a little puzzled.  The song, which has a more pronounced rock influence, may please her die-hard fans, but it’s not exactly what I’d call “radio ready.”  The chorus is kind of meandering, lacking a really strong hook that draws you in and sticks in your head.  It’s not all bad, though.  Avril sounds great and the track has a really fun energy (and even a little electric guitar solo).  But if Epic Records is looking for Avril’s first comeback hit, I’m not sure “Rock N Roll” is it.

But I absolutely could be wrong – it’s been known to happen (and I do like the song, so I’ll be rooting for it).  Check out “Rock N Roll” via Avril’s official YouTube channel below.  Oh, and let’s talk about this single cover.  A strung out raccoon in heat looking MESS.  Put your leg down, ratty.

2 thoughts on “New Music: Avril Lavigne – “Rock N Roll”

  1. I definitely think this is a stronger single than HTNGU …. you’ve got that earworm of a chorus from Max Martin……that usually solidifies a hit! 🙂

    • You’re absolutely right about that chorus – the song has definitely grown on me! But I don’t think Max Martin was involved this time around. ASCAP lists Avril, Chad Kroeger, Jacob Kasher, Peter Svensson, David Hodges, and Rickard Goransson as writers. But I do hope that Avril got some studio time in with Max – we’ll just have to wait and see! Thanks for commenting.

Leave a Reply

