New Music: The Wanted – “We Own the Night”

thewantedweownthenight

The Wanted’s new single is an elephant-sized techno hoedown mess.  Not only does “We Own the Night” blatantly bite fun.’s style, it’s also one of the most offensively written pop songs in recent memory.  I mean: “We are only young if we seize the night, tonight we own the night.”  And then there’s: “When my time is over, lying in my grave, written on my tombstone, I want it to say, this man was a legend, a legend of his time, when he was at a party, the party never died!”

Are they for real?  I mean I don’t expect Shakespeare, but jeez.  I know that when they recorded this they were envisioning drunk college students everywhere toasting frothy mugs of beer, rocking back and forth and singing in unison, but in reality it’s just got too many bag pipe synths and it kind of sounds like the Cotton-Eyed Joe.  Yeesh.  I’m starting to think that the success of “Glad You Came” was a fluke.

Stream “We Own the Night” below…if you dare.

Leave a Reply

