Music News: Katy vs. Gaga – let the battle begin!

Katy Perry’s new single “Roar” is out and already rockin’ iTunes!  Due to several leaked snippets, Gaga pushed up the release of her new single “Applause” to tonight!  Let the pop girl battle begin!

Strangely enough, both “Roar” and “Applause” suffer from the same problem – strong chorus, weak verses.  Katy’s verses are familiar and cliche (“You held me down, but I got up!”), Gaga’s just don’t make a ton of sense.  But while “Roar” features the most massive and infectious chorus I’ve heard in a pop song this year, Gaga’s “Applause” just has a solid hook…buried beneath a lot of electronic noise.  Advantage: Katy.

I LIKE “Roar” a lot, but I don’t LOVE it.  Vocally, Katy’s never sounded better, but the song is missing the spark (pardon the pun) of past anthems like “Firework” (though the final chorus is really something special).  As for “Applause,” it’s OK.  Like a lot of songs on “Born This Way,” the production just sounds too cluttered and messy to me.

Katy’s been sitting at #1 on iTunes for a few hours today, but I imagine she will be dethroned by Gaga later tonight.  Then, after the hype settles, we’ll see which song is really resonating with the general public!

What are your thoughts on “Roar” and “Applause”?  Which song will ultimately come out on top?

Check out both songs after the jump!

4 thoughts on “Music News: Katy vs. Gaga – let the battle begin!

  1. Good article! I’ve been discussing similar on my blog -http://themusicfix.wordpress.com/2013/08/12/gaga-v-perry-round-1/ – I personally prefer the Gaga song, who do you think will end up with more success once the full albums are out?

    • That’s a really tough question! Obviously, I think both women are going to have a lot of success. Ultimately, I think Gaga will sell more albums and Katy will shift more singles, but that’s just a hunch. I’m excited to sit back and watch it all unfold!

  2. Pingback: Review: Lady Gaga – “ARTPOP”: A track-by-track breakdown | hands up! music blog

Leave a Reply

