2014 Grammy Predictions: LL Cool J for every category!

llcoolj

Get excited – nominations for the 2014 Grammy Awards are announced tomorrow night on “The GRAMMY Nominations Concert Live!!” on CBS!  It’s so exciting, there are two exclamation points!!  And you know LL Cool J is hosting again!  There will be performances from Lorde, Katy Perry, Taylor Swift, Robin Thicke, and more, but since the hour long show will almost certainly be comprised of 45 minutes worth of commercials, you’re probably better off just skipping it altogether and checking out the nomination list on the Grammy website after it airs!

Full disclosure: I am not good at predicting the Grammys.  And I’m not just saying that so that I’m less embarrassed when most of my predictions end up being wrong – I literally have no idea what’s going on.  But IF by some miracle I end up being mostly right, or like, I totally end up calling some SURPRISE nomination or something, my triumphant victory roar will be heard ’round the world!  Here we go – my nomination predictions for “the big 4” categories are after the jump!

ALBUM OF THE YEAR

  • Justin Timberlake – “The 20/20 Experience”
  • Drake – “Nothing Was the Same”
  • Daft Punk – “Random Access Memories”
  • Macklemore & Ryan Lewis – “The Heist”
  • Taylor Swift – “Red”

RECORD OF THE YEAR

  • Robin Thicke feat. TI & Pharrell – “Blurred Lines”
  • Daft Punk feat. Pharrell – “Get Lucky”
  • Lorde – “Royals”
  • Justin Timberlake – “Mirrors”
  • Macklemore & Ryan Lewis – “Thrift Shop”

SONG OF THE YEAR

  • Daft Punk feat. Pharrell – “Get Lucky”
  • Macklemore & Ryan Lewis – “Same Love”
  • Lorde – “Royals”
  • Justin Timberlake – “Mirrors”
  • Kacey Musgraves – “Merry Go Round”

BEST NEW ARTIST

  • Macklemore & Ryan Lewis
  • Lorde
  • Kacey Musgraves
  • Kendrick Lamar
  • Imagine Dragons

So there you go!  It KILLS me to not predict Katy in Record of the Year, but I just don’t see it happening.  I also feel like Imagine Dragons could end up in Record of the Year and Song of the Year, but I couldn’t decide whose place they would take…so I’m just going leave things how they are.  Do you think I’m close?  Or am I way off base?  Feel free to share your nomination predictions in the comments!

Leave a Reply

